Province of Lucca, Toscana

The Province of Lucca includes renowned resorts as Lucca, Viareggio, Capannori, Camaiore and Pietrasanta.
The territory is traditionally divided into 3 main areas: Piana di Lucca, the eastern part of the province including the capital; Garfagnana, a mountainous area between the Alps and the Tuscan-Emilian Apennines, crossed the river Serchio and rich in forests; and Versilia, the coastal part, with many tourist resorts.


  • Area: 1,773 km²
  • Population: about 390,000 inhabitants
  • Population Density: 213 per sq km
  • Zip/postal codes: 55100
  • Phone Area Codes: 0583, 0584, 0572
  • Car Plate: LU
  • Communes: 35 communes
  • Official website: http://www.provincia.lucca.it/ -- According to an administrative reform from 1 Jan 2014, the Province is scheduled for suppression and fusion with the Provinces of Massa-Carrara, Livorno and Pisa.


Including the historical area of the Duchy of Lucca, the province was enlarged in 1923 with the following communes of Garfagnana previously belonging to the province of Massa-Carrara: Camporgiano, Careggine, Castelnuovo Garfagnana, Castiglione di Garfagnana, Fosciandora, Gallicano, Giuncugnano, Minucciano, Molazzana, Piazza al Serchio, Pieve Fosciana, San Romano in Garfagnana, Sillano, Trassilico (oggi Fabbriche di Vallico), Vagli Sotto, Vergemoli and Villa Collemandina.

In 1928 the communes of Bagni di Montecatini, Buggiano, Massa e Cozzile, Monsummano Terme, Montecatini Val di Nievole, Pescia, Ponte Buggianese, Uzzano and Vellano, previously in the province of Lucca, passed under the jurisdiction of the province of Pistoia.

The Comuni in the Province

Altopascio | Bagni di Lucca | Barga | Borgo a Mozzano | Camaiore | Camporgiano | Capannori | Careggine | Castelnuovo di Garfagnana | Castiglione di Garfagnana | Coreglia Antelminelli | Fabbriche di Vallico | Forte dei Marmi | Fosciandora | Gallicano | Giuncugnano | Lucca | Massarosa | Minucciano | Molazzana | Montecarlo | Pescaglia | Piazza al Serchio | Pietrasanta | Pieve Fosciana | Porcari | San Romano in Garfagnana | Seravezza | Sillano | Stazzema | Vagli Sotto | Vergemoli | Viareggio | Villa Basilica | Villa Collemandina

Where to stay

ItalyHeritage on Facebook
Family History
Genealogy ResearchNeed help in your research?
Contact us with details and priorities.
Provinces of Tuscany
Toscana region
Surnames in the Provinces of Toscana