Province of Siracusa, Sicilia

The Province of Siracusa lies on the eastern side of Sicily, along the Ionian Sea.


  • Area: 2108 km²
  • Population: about 400,000 inhabitants
  • Zip/postal codes:
  • Phone Area Codes:
  • Car Plate: SR
  • Communes: 21 communes

The Territory

The territory is very rich in waters: there is the Lentini lake, the rivers Ciane, Anapo and Cassibile, which flow into the sea south of Siracusa, the marshes of Vendicari, Pozzallo and Priolo Gargallo, all areas of great environmental importance for vegetation and wildlife, many of which are natural reserves and protected areas.

The natural beauty is accompanied by an outstanding artistic and historical heritage: the localities of Siracusa, Noto, Palazzolo Acreide and Pantalica, as well as the archeological sites of Leontinoi, Akrai, Megara Iblea, Eloro, Avola Antica, Noto Antica and Siracusa are included among the UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

The Comuni in the Province

Augusta | Avola | Buccheri | Buscemi | Canicattini Bagni | Carlentini | Cassaro | Ferla | Floridia | Francofonte | Lentini | Melilli | Noto | Pachino | Palazzolo Acreide | Portopalo di Capo Passero | Priolo Gargallo | Rosolini | Siracusa | Solarino | Sortino

Where to stay:

ItalyHeritage on Facebook
Family History
Genealogy ResearchNeed help in your research?
Contact us with details and priorities.
Provinces of Sicily
Sicilia region
Surnames in the Provinces of Sicily