Ragusa, Province of Ragusa, Sicily

Ragusa, the capital of the province of Ragusa is built on a wide limestone hill between two deep valleys, Cava San Leonardo and Cava Santa Domenica.
The city has two distinct areas, the lower and older region Ragusa Ibla, and the higher Ragusa Superiore. The two halves are separated by the Valle dei Ponti, a deep ravine crossed by four bridges. One of them the 18th century Ponte dei Cappuccinni is particularly beautiful. In 1693 the city was devastated by a huge earthquake, following this catastrophe the city was rebuilt, many magnificent baroque buildings date from this period.


  • Altitude: 502 m a.s.l
  • Population: about 69,000 inhabitants
  • Zip/postal code: 97100
  • Dialing Area Code: +39 0932
  • Frazioni & Località: Marina di Ragusa

What to see

  • The Cathedral of San Giovanni Battista, built between 1718 and 1778, with a is pure baroque façade, containing fine carvings and sculptures. The cathedral has a high belltower in the same style. The ornate baroque interior is separated into three colonnaded aisles, the columns embellished with gold.
  • The Zacco Palace is one of the most beautiful baroque buildings of the city, its Corinthian columns support balconies of wrought iron, with grotesque caryatids that shock or amuse the passers-by.

Where to stay

ItalyHeritage on Facebook
Family History
Genealogy ResearchNeed help in your research?
Contact us with details and priorities.
Provinces of Sicily
Sicilia region
Surnames in the Provinces of Sicily