Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani, Puglia

The Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani was established in 2004, with 7 communes of the province of Bari and 3 of the province of Foggia. The functions of province capital are shared among the 3 main centres, Barletta, Andria and Trani. It is bordered by the provinces of Foggia to the north, Bari to the south, Potenza to the west, and by the Adriatic Sea to the east.


  • Area: 1,543 km²
  • Population: about 390,000 inhabitants
  • Zip/postal codes: 70051-70031-70059
  • Phone Area Codes: 0883, 080
  • Car Plate: BT
  • Communes: 10 communes -- According to an administrative reform from 1 Jan 2014, the Province is scheduled for suppression and fusion with the Province of Foggia.

The Territory

The territory of the new province Barletta-Andria-Trani is rich in history and art. In Barletta there is the celebrated statue called "Colosso", in the Murge hills of Castel del Monte, an amazing Swabian castle with its unmistakable profile of 8 towers, the emblem of the province.

Then there is Trani, an ancient mariner town, with its gardens along the seafront and fine beaches, the "pearl" of the Adriatic Sea, as well as Bisceglie and the spa town of Margherita di Savoia, are among the main tourist destinations in summer.

And near the town of Trinitapoli there is the archeological site of a civilization of the 11th century BC, the ancient, now submerged maritime town Salapia. The territory of the province is partly included in the Alta Murgia National Park.

The Comuni in the Province

Andria | Barletta | Bisceglie | Canosa di Puglia | Margherita di Savoia | Minervino Murge | San Ferdinando di Puglia | Spinazzola | Trani | Trinitapoli

Where to stay

ItalyHeritage on Facebook
Family History
Genealogy ResearchNeed help in your research?
Contact us with details and priorities.
Provinces of Puglia
Puglia region
Surnames in the Provinces of Puglia