Province of Trieste, Friuli-Venezia Giulia

The Province of Trieste occupies a very narrow strip of land 30 km long, comprised between the Adriatic and the Carso plateau, bordering Slovenia to the east.


  • Area: 212 km²
  • Population: about 240,000 inhabitants
  • Zip/postal codes: 34121-34151, 34010-34018
  • Phone Area Codes: 040
  • Car Plate: TS
  • Communes: 6 communes
  • Official website: www.provincia.trieste.it.


The Free Territory of Trieste was established as a free state on September 15, 1947 then in 1954 Italy and Yugoslavia agreed that the territory de facto was divided between the two states: Zone A of the free state became the Province of Trieste and Zone B was to be administered by Yugoslavia. The Province of Trieste formally became a part of Italy on October 11, 1977 by the Treaty of Osimo.

The Comuni in the Province

Duino Aurisina | Monrupino | Muggia | San Dorligo della Valle | Sgonico | Trieste

Where to stay

ItalyHeritage on Facebook
Family History
Genealogy ResearchNeed help in your research?
Contact us with details and priorities.
Provinces of Friuli-Venezia Giulia
Friuli-Venezia Giulia region
Surnames in the Provinces of Friuli-Venezia Giulia
Info on Italian Regions
Italian Regions