Province of Teramo, Abruzzo

The Province of Teramo is the northernmost province of Abruzzo, at the border with the Ascoli-Piceno province, along the Adriatic sea. It is less than two hours away by car from Rome with which it is connected by a comfortable motorway passing below the Gran Sasso through a 10km-long tunnel.


With the institution of the Province of Pescara, in 1927, a number of communes previously belonging to the province of Teramo changed province, notably: Brittoli, Cappelle sul Tavo, Carpineto della Nora, Catignano, Cepagatti, Città Sant'Angelo, Civitaquana, Civitella Casanova, Collecorvino, Corvara, Cugnoli, Elice, Farindola, Loreto Aprutino, Montebello di Bertona, Montesilvano, Moscufo, Nocciano, Penne, Pianella, Picciano, Pietranico, Rosciano, Scafa, Spoltore, Vicoli, Villa Celiera.

The Territory

The territory has a great variety since in a space of hardly 40 km air-line, it goes from the Adriatic beaches to the almost 3000 meters of the highest Appenine peaks. It is crossed west to east by the seven valleys of the rivers Tronto, Vibrata, Salinello, Tordino, Vomano, Piomba and Fino. Along the coast there are the beautiful seaside resorts of Martinsicuro, Alba Adriatica, Tortoreto, Giulianova, Roseto degli Abruzzi, Pineto and Silvi Marina, immediately in the hinterland the ancient historical centres of Civitella del Tronto, Campli, Nereto, Notaresco, Castellalto and Castelbasso, Montepagano, Atri, and up into the mountains the picturesque villages of Castelli, celebrated majolica capital of Abruzzi, Isola del Gran Sasso with the sanctuary of St. Gabriel of the Sorrowful Virgin, Pietracamela, Montorio, and the ski fields of Prati di Tivo.

The Comuni in the Province

Suggested Links

Other Sections on Abruzzo

ItalyHeritage on Facebook
Family History
Genealogy ResearchNeed help in your research?
Contact us with details and priorities.
Provinces of Abruzzo
Abruzzo region
Surnames in the Provinces of Abruzzo